I’ve always wondered about the legitimacy of About.com.  Like all search junkies, I’ve stumbled upon this site several times and typically because it’s just for some computer related information so I didn’t give it much thought.  But I have always wondered about whether I can trust is site with so much advertisement on the sides.  A few is okay, but it’s just a bit too cluttered.  It makes me think that these people care about their advertisers more than their information.

This morning I was doing some information gathering about SSRI and SAMe, something as a doctor of pharmacy, we’re trained to know.  Then I stumbled upon this article about SAMe on About.com.   The woman who wrote it is an ND or naturopathic doctor.  I know this doesn’t affect other people with the same degree, but she claims in the article that you CAN use SAMe with an SSRI!  Yes, the information just blew my mind.

SAMe is an herbal drug that’s used as an antidepressant because it increases the levels of serotonin in the brain.  SSRI, or selective serotonin receptor inhibitor, also increase the levels of serotonin in the brain.  On the face of it, if increasing serotonin in the brain helps with the depression, then doing it a lot would be great.  Not so, too much serotonin causes what’s called serotonin syndrome.  The condition requires immediate medical attention, with symptoms including anxiety, restlessness, confusion, weakness, tremor, muscle twitching or spasm, high fever, profuse sweating, and rapid heartbeat.  A person can definitely die from this syndrome if immediate medical attention is not sought.

What really bothers me about this article from About.com is that they don’t have any place for me to give feedback.  I don’t mind that information from sites such as these have some wrong information if they offer a place where readers can comment on what is written and offer changes to the article.  And lastly, what is unforgivable is  that this error in information could kill somebody.

People really should check over their health information before they post it online…*sigh*

